Skip to content ↓
Together Students Achieve



The UK is a world leader in the creative digital industries, such as in the creation of visual effects for films and computer games. However, there is growing recognition that we need to build on and improve the UK’s capability and capacity for technical innovation and creativity in this area.

Years 10 & 11

What will I study? 

The OCR Level 1/2 Cambridge National Certificate in Creative iMedia consists of two mandatory units and two optional units, it has been designed to teach digital design skills and enable young people to use digital tools to express their creativity in an informed and responsible way.

What skills will I develop? 

The OCR Level 1/2 Cambridge National Certificate in Creative iMedia has been designed to engage and enthuse young people with an interest in creative computing, for example digital graphics and animations, interactive multimedia products and computer games.

How will I be assessed?

Unit R081: Pre-production skills – External examination

Unit R082: Creating digital graphics – Internally assessed, externally moderated

Unit R085: Creating a multipage website – Internally assessed, externally moderated

Unit R087: Creating interactive multimedia products – Internally assessed, externally moderated

Years 10 & 11 Curriculum Overview 

Key Stage 5 

What will I study?

Cambridge Technicals IT Level 3 Introductory Diploma

This qualification is for learners 16 years old or over who prefer to study IT in a context that allows them to learn and be assessed in ways that are practical and relevant to the IT sector. This qualification is not just about being able to use computers. Employers have told us that they need people who are able to help them develop their systems or the systems for their customers, use IT as a tool to analyse data and develop applications. Therefore, this qualification is designed to give learners a range of specialist knowledge and transferable skills in the context of applied IT, providing them with the opportunity to enter an apprenticeship, move directly into employment, or progress to a related Higher Education (HE) course.

What skills will I develop?

Analysis, Design, Implementation, Testing and Evaluation

How will I be assessed?

All learners will study the following two mandatory units; Fundamentals of IT and Global information. These units provide learners with an insight into the IT sector, as they investigate the pace of technological change, IT infrastructure, and the flow of information on a global scale, as well as the important legal and security considerations. These units will be externally assessed.

In addition, learners are required to complete three further units:

  • Application design and development
  • Project management
  • Product development

 These units will all be internally assessed and externally moderated.